AIB Roast – A Proud Moment Or A National Shame?


AIB roast is in controversy now. Some people liked it and some didn’t. Some of them even raised a voice against it. Complaint lodged and the video taken out of the youtube but still available on torrent. On twitter #AIBRoast and #AIBNationalShame both were top trends. I too expressed my views on it and some got offended to it. I questioned the morality and responsibility of AIB hosts. In response, I received a no of replies asking , do I never abuse in my life and never use these so called fancy and cool words?

Answer to your question is a big YES. Yes I abuse, I use these words and so you do. But you can not compare me with the people present at AIB roast. People like Karan Johar, Deepika Padukon, Sonakshi Sinha, Ranveer, Arjun kapoor, Raghu, Tanmay, Alia Bhatt and the list goes on. These are the people whom the youth of the country follow. You can check their followers on twitter, facebook pages and other social networks. And can do the same on my accounts and see the difference. So when you have millions of followers, there comes a social and moral responsibility on you. A responsibility to take the youth (your followers) into a right direction. When I abuse and use these words in my friend circle, it doesn’t impact anyone. The only impacted people are my friends with whom I use these words. Moreover I (or You) dont use this filthy language in front of our parents. Neither we use it in front of kids of our family, be it our cousins, brother/sister, nephew/niece or our own children even if they are above 18. We don’t do that because we know they follow us and what we say or do impacts them directly. We don’t talk vulgar in public places. When you ask me this question in reply to my tweet against AIB Roast’s filthy language, its like someone asking you how many scores did you made in reply to your tweet on criticizing Virat Kohli for not performing good in a crucial series. We criticize only those who have a bigger circle of influence. I hope it makes my point clear.

AIBRoast

Another point, there were prominent women present at the show. Deepika padukon, Alia Bhatt, Sonakshi Sinha. These are the ladies who talk a lot about woman empowerment and women’s respect. What they conveyed through their presence in such a show where jokes were cracked about women body parts, made fun of Parineeti Chopra and Aisha Takia in a way vulgar manner. Had it been done by a political person or someone else, Parineeti would have busted out and lodged an FIR. But here she chose to keep quite and the reason is well known to everyone.

Most of the people are supporting it as a freedom to speech and at the same time they are getting offended to people who talk against it. Dont you take it too as a freedom of speech. If you believe that someone should be allowed to use filthy language on the name of freedom of speech, don’t you think criticizing it is also a freedom of speech.

One thought on “AIB Roast – A Proud Moment Or A National Shame?

  1. What were the positive impacts of AIB Knockout on Indian society?

    The only positive thing about AIB is that we are discussing it. Its a wake up call for our leaders and us to have a fair debate over freedom of speech. I am expecting a live debate on the language used in the show and what can be done as a law to allow…

    Like

What do you think about this article?

